Environmental Education in Laos: Learning with Head, Hand and Heart

At the beginning of 2016, I could not have imagined the experiences I would gain in 2016. As a media producer I always wanted to combine my creative work with social aspects. During travels in Asia in 2013, I fell in love with Laos, its people and wonderful nature. This is why I was more

than lucky to find out about ProCEEd while searching for a topic for my Master’s thesis in Media and Education. Only a few emails later, I was invited to join the project for a five-month internship.

From day one, I learned a lot about the project's specific approaches. ProCEEd uses the advantages of different types of media to make people share and understand environmental message. Because of its high dependence on natural resources, Laos is strongly affected by the effects of climate change. The changes do not only influence agriculture but are also a threat to the livelihoods of the rural population who strongly depend on healthy ecosystems. In 2012, a survey on environmental awareness revealed that most of the Lao citizens in Vientiane, Khammouane, Houaphan and Sayaboury know very little about biodiversity and environment-related subjects. That was the starting point for the ProCEEd project.